I don’t like it much. Let’s see… Kids can stay on their parents insurance until they are 26 years old. I like that part all right.

These are the letters I wrote to my Members of Congress:

Senator ______,

I would like to ask you to oppose the current plan of the Republican’s to overhaul the ACA.

From what I understand about this plan, it would cost more for many, through the change in tax credits. It would allow insurance companies to charge elderly people as much as five times as much as what they charge young people. It wants to roll back Medicaid in 2020, which would cost our State more and force us to decrease benefits. And it would give tax breaks to people who don’t need them. 

Your statement  on your web page, that all individuals deserve access to affordable health care bothers me. Of course they do, but it doesn’t matter if they have access if they can’t afford it. And a health savings account doesn’t do a lower income person a bit of good, since they would not use it. 

Believe me. I spent much of my life without health insurance because we could not afford it. My children spent most of their lives without health insurance because we could not afford it. This was not Obama’s fault. Insurance, under the free market system was too expensive. We made too much to get government assistance and too little to buy insurance.

Please oppose this bill and try to come up with something better, not something worse.

###

Representative ______,

I just wanted to say thank you for opposing the current Republican proposed health care bill. It sounds as if it will cost more for poor and middle class people, give breaks to wealthier people and doesn’t even have an explanation of how it would pay for itself. I know Obama’s plan needs improvement, but this wouldn’t do it.

Of (My Town)

###

Senator ______,

I would like to ask you to oppose the current plan of the Republican’s to overhaul the ACA.

From what I understand about this plan, it would cost more for many, through the change in tax credits. It would allow insurance companies to charge elderly people as much as five times as much as what they charge young people. It wants to roll back Medicaid in 2020, which would cost our State more and force us to decrease benefits. And it would give tax breaks to people who don’t need them.  

I have spent much of my life without health insurance because we could not afford it. My children spent most of their lives without health insurance because we could not afford it. This was not Obama’s fault. Insurance, under the free market system was too expensive. We made too much to get government assistance and too little to buy insurance in (my state) before the ACA.

Please oppose this bill.
Click here to find Out Where Your Members of Congress Stand on GOP Health Care Bill

Here is an NPR article which points out some of the major flaws in the Republican plan.

Leave a Reply

