I thought I should pick one or two items in current events that really bother me. I read this somewhere and it seemed like good advice. 

Here’s the rub. I’m upset often more than once a day by issues currently going on in the world, the US, in individual states, and towns that it’s very hard to choose one or two. And, even if I do pick one or three items, they seem to overlap quite a lot. 

Furthermore occasionally I think I have picked my special topics, when something comes up that would affect everything else. For instance, the right to protest. If we don’t have this, everything stops. Or the right to privacy which no one seems to talk about much anyway. When you start thinking about the lack of privacy rights, everything else pales.These two items barely made my original list.

Here’s the list I made when attempting to narrow my topics.

Issues I Feel Strongly About:

LGBTQ

WOMAN’S ISSUES HEALTH/EQUALITY

INTERNET FREEDOM AND PRIVACY

ENVIRONMENT/CLIMATE CHANGE

CIVIL RIGHTS

PRIVATE PRISONS/INCARCERATION RATE

PUBLIC EDUCATION

WORKERS RIGHTS/UNIONS

WAR

MONEY IN POLITICS/DARK MONEY

HEALTH INSURANCE

LOW COST/FREE UNIVERSITY

IMMIGRANTS RIGHTS

REFUGEE RIGHTS

Leave a Reply

